In order to promote the higher education among the economically backward classes irrespective of SC, ST and General students pursuing higher study inside and outside the State in several stream the Higher Education Department is providing stipend & scholarship from Diploma level to the Master Degree and Ph.D. level. Under the Higher Education Department there are 2 (two) Central schemes namely NEC & Dr. Ambedkar Post Matric Scholarship to EBC for general category students directly sponsored by the Higher Education Department.

         Other than the above mentioned scheme the Higher Education Department is also sponsoring other centrally sponsored schemes sponsored by the ST, SC & OBC Welfare Department for the students of technical courses as well as for the student of other Humanities and Professional courses for the Institutes of inside and outside the State. Apart from it there are 6 (six) nos. State schemes namely – Tripura Post Madhyamik Stipend, Scheme of Post Matric Scholarship, Tripura Govt. Merit-Cum-Means Scholarship Scheme, Institution of Scholarship, Stipend for Education of Girls at Degree stage, Tripura Post Graduate Research Fellowship and Financial Assistance to Blind Students are also being awarded by the Higher Education Department for the students pursuing studies in Diploma and Degree level. The NEC and Dr. Ambedkar Post Matric Scholarship to EBC scheme are run under national scholarship portal NSP 0.2 by inviting application through online system and the other scheme sponsored by the ST, SC & OBC Welfare Department are also being awarded through NSP 0.2 portal. For implementing online system for the State schemes the Finance Department has opened a portal as named CITOS to extend the benefit of the State scheme among the student through online system.